Abstaining From Facebook Might Free Up Some Time…

It’s been quite awhile since I updated this blog. Like everyone else with great blog-starting intentions, life got busy. Since last December, I have graduated college, moved to another state, and started my career.

willywonky

 

While many things have changed, I’m still a book lover that wants nothing more than to read and escape into another world. Since my work schedule changed recently, I’ve found myself with much more free time. After spending two weeks browsing Facebook and watching Hulu, I realized that there are no longer excuses for not attending to the ever growing collection of books threatening to topple my cheap Walmart bookshelf. 

By 2pm next Wednesday (August 24th), I will have finished the novel that I started earlier this year, along with another started several years ago. This blog’s purpose is to not only give me a platform to voice my thoughts about what I am reading, but also to hold me accountable to my goals.

In addition, I hope to connect with other bookworms. If anyone has reading suggestions, please feel free to shoot me an email or message on Goodreads. Not Twitter. I get so many messages on Twitter that I can’t even pretend to see them all. A comment here would be fine as well.

Here’s to a great week of reading and getting back into my Unexplored Bookshelf!

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Bradley says:

    I allowed Facebook to take too much of my writing time and have since fallen behind my goals. I use it to stay in touch with family so I don’t want to get rid of it. This past week I closed all chat and set it so I do not get notifications from anyone. It’s helped. There is a deactivate button that will shut down your account entirely, as if you closed your account. Unlike closing, however is that you can reactivate it anytime and your name stays the same, your friends list stays the same, etc. It might be a good option for you.

    Blogging has me in turmoil. It was the catalyst for getting me back to writing again. It would break my heart to shut it down, or to take an extended leave, as I have had in the past. For now I’m going to seek balance. If I’m unable to find that balance, then I may be left with a difficult decision I don’t want to make.

    Like

    1. Anotherer says:

      I wish I could find a balance. Deactivating might be a good option for me, since I could still sign in but it would take more work to do so.

      I’m glad you have found a catalyst for your writing.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I spend entirely too much time on Facebook and on reading blogs. Gets in way of writing. But, I’ve met lots of wonderful and supportive people online. Congrats on graduating, moving and starting your career!

    Like

    1. Anotherer says:

      Thanks! I spend hours per day on Facebook. It gets in the way of almost everything. The oddest part about it though, is that I don’t even like it all that much! On my feed, it’s the same few people posting all the time about the same things.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Interesting how we get sucked in…

        Like

  3. theonlysup says:

    True. People get so much addicted to Facebook that they don’t get time for anything else .. I’m also a book lover as u r. I will surely add u to goodreads..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Anotherer says:

      If I could somehow block Facebook on my laptop, there would be several more hours in my day. I’ll see you on Goodreads!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. theonlysup says:

        I have no account in Facebook.. I’m still happier ..

        Like

        1. Anotherer says:

          I have considered deleting mine but it is how I communicate with family since moving. Still might do it eventually…

          Liked by 1 person

      2. Just turn off notifications. I turn off notifications on every social media and email. No way could I handle that many interruptions. I’d be totally overwhelmed.

        Like

        1. Anotherer says:

          I did remove the notifications from my phone. It has helped, because i’m not forced into checking Facebook each time something moves.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Yep. It helps tremendously. I still check in too often, though.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Yeah, I wish I could get away from my FB habit. There’s never really anything new and exciting on it these days anyway.

    Like

Leave a Reply

